L-Theanine is a non-protein amino acid found naturally in the green tea plant (Camellia sinensis). It is an effective GABA precursor and supports healthy relaxation without drowsiness. Because it can cross the blood-brain barrier, L-theanine helps increase brain dopamine levels and helps support a normal immune system. *
Each size 1 vegetarian cellulose capsule contains:
L-Theanine (Suntheanine ®)
What is L-Theanine?
Pure L-Theanine (Suntheanine®) is a non-protein amino acid found naturally in green tea. While amino acids are often referred to as “building blocks for protein” there are some amino acids that function independently without contributing to protein structures. L-Theanine is one of these “non-protein” amino acids.
L-Theanine supports healthy relaxation without drowsiness. It can be credited, in part, for the calm sense of focus brought on by drinking green tea. It has been extensively studied for its potential to reduce stress, boost mood, improve cognition, and enhance immune response.
How does L-Theanine Work?
Once absorbed, supplemental l-theanine crosses the blood-brain barrier, where it can contribute to an increase in GABA, serotonin, dopamine, and glycine in various regions of the brain . It also increases BDNF (brain-derived neurotrophic factor), which can elicit antipsychotic and antidepressant effects, as well as NGF (nerve growth factor), and thus may have an overall neuroprotective ability . L-Theanine has been shown to promote alpha-wave activity in the brain, a measurable indicator of relaxation .
Studies have shown that l-theanine can also regulate the secretion of immune cytokines, thus enhancing innate immune function . An l-theanine metabolite, ethylamine, also supports immune function by priming gamma-delta T cells, the first line of defense against many types of infection .
L-Theanine may also have hepatoprotective qualities, by enhancing the antioxidant activity of liver cells .
What are the Suggested Uses for L-Theanine?
Source Materials: L-Theanine is derived from L-Glutamine via an enzymatic process. Cellulose for capsules is derived from softwood tree pulp. All ingredients are vegan and non-GMO.
Allergens: According to information provided by our suppliers, these capsules are free of the eight major allergens as identified by the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA): Wheat (gluten), eggs, milk, soybeans, shellfish, fish, peanuts, tree nuts.
Recommendations: One (1) capsule daily, or as directed by a healthcare professional. Best taken between meals.
Precautions: Pregnant or lactating women and individuals taking prescription medications should consult with a healthcare professional before taking any supplement.
* These statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.